Feature request #14396

Button to clear WMS Capability cache in the "Add WMS/WMTS layer" dialog

Added by Casper Børgesen about 1 year ago. Updated 9 months ago.

Status:Closed Start Date:03/01/2016
Priority:Normal Due date:
Assigned to:- % Done:

0%

Category:-
Target version:Version 2.14
Platform: Resolution:worksforme
Platform version: Pull Request or Patch supplied:No
Status info: Tag:

Description

The recently added cache functionality regarding WMS capabilites have the down side, that if you perform tests on a WMS server, which affect the GetCapabilities request, you have to navigate to Options/Network and clear the entire network cache each time. This is pretty inconvenient.

A simple button to clear the WMS cache for the selected server or maybe an option to disregard the cache (even though it exist) would do wonders.

History

Updated by Jürgen Fischer about 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Open to Feedback

The cache is bypassed and refresh whenever you click "Connect" in "Add Layer(s) from a WM(T)S Server" anyway.

Updated by Casper Børgesen about 1 year ago

If the cache is bypassed by clicking "Connect" where does the cache speed things up?

Never the less, I had a big fight with the cache about two weeks ago in master (I didn't know there was a cache), where I was doing a lot of configuration of layers in GeoServer. I used Fiddler to inspect the capabilities request and response and found nothing wrong with it even though QGIS complained about primarily being unable to calculate extents. At that point I think the cache was used even though the request was made. All problems were solved if I went in and cleared the cache before each "Connect". I don't know if You have made changes since then, but if so (and at the moment I cannot reproduce the problem), then I withdraw my Feature Request.

Updated by Jürgen Fischer about 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to Closed
  • Resolution set to worksforme

Casper Børgesen wrote:

If the cache is bypassed by clicking "Connect" where does the cache speed things up?

The capabilities were also retrieved when layers were inserted.

Updated by dr - 9 months ago

Faced with the same issue on the latest master. If I change layer name on server side then after clicking "Connect" I see new layer name in QGIS dialog. But if I change layer extent property on server side then clicking "Connect" doesn't help and QGIS use old extent value.

Also available in: Atom